McDougall Mill Museum

   
Category: Arts and Heritage
Types: Museums
Region: Eastern Ontario
Address: Arthur Ave, Renfrew
Phone: 613-432-2129
Season: Daily thru July & August. Tours welcome June thru September
McDougall Mill Museum

  Map - Driving Directions       Map - Find Nearby Businesses

Our museum holds three packed floors of artifacts, many from Renfrew's early Industrial days when the town was home to: Renfrew Electric –maker of Canadian Beauty Appliances, Renfrew Refrigerator Company –ice boxes, Renfrew Machinery Acorn stoves, Renfrew Flour Mills and the Renfrew Creamery. The third floor houses a decorative military display, Victorian clothing and a wedding dress gallery. A doll collection, glass ware and hundreds of household articles fill every corner of our second floor. The first floor contains one of the most extensive collections of farming equipment and pioneer tools in Ontario, along with a few treasures for railway enthusiasts. Though the majority of the museum's artifacts celebrate local history, we also exhibit items donated by valley natives from travels around Canada and exotic locales abroad. A Six foot long Narwhal tusk, Polar bear skin, African wood carvings and Japanese Kimonos to name just a few. Our most celebrated artifact is the museum itself. This beautiful stone mill was built in 1855 by fur trader and Hudson's Bay Company agent, John Lorne McDougall. Used originally as a grist mill, the building was renovated and reopened as a museum in 1969. Situated in picturesque O'Brien Park the mill cradles the second chute of the Bonnechere River and overlooks the town's historic Swinging Bridge.

Historic Site Museum Public Washrooms

Move your mouse cursor over each icon for more info!

Cash / Travellers Cheques
 

Find It Fast!

Search by company name or leave it blank to use the category search, then click GO!

or

For more options click here.