UNESCO World Heritage Sites

In June of 2007, on the 175th anniversary of its creation, the Rideau Canal was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  This distinction, along with the fact that the surrounding region, the Frontenac Arch, is a Biosphere Reserve, means that this area has been given international recognition for its uniqueness both culturally and environmentally.Locks of the Rideau Canal

What does this mean?
A World Heritage Site is either a natural or cultural place that is important enough to be the responsibility of the international community as a whole.  Canada has signed UNESCO's pledge to conserve and protect its World Heritage Sites.  Parks Canada is the designated government authority that manages Canada's World Heritage Site commitments and nominations.  The Rideau Canal is now in a select group with such international locations as the Galapagos Islands, Stonehenge and the Great Barrier Reef.

How many Heritage Sites are in Canada?
There are 14 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Canada.  The Rideau Canal (along with Fort Henry) is Ontario's only World Heritage Site.
• L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site (1978)
• Nahanni National Park (1978)
• Dinosaur Provincial Park (1979)
• Kluane / Wrangell-St Elias / Glacier Bay / Tatshenshini-Alsek (1979, 1992, 1994) Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump Museum, Alberta, Canada
• Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump (1981)
• SGang Gwaay (1981)
• Wood Buffalo National Park (1983)
• Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks (1984, 1990)
• Historic District of Old Québec (1985)
• Gros Morne National Park (1987)
• Old Town Lunenburg (1995)
• Waterton Glacier International Peace Park (1995)
• Miguasha National Park (1999)


Find It Fast!

Search by company name or leave it blank to use the category search, then click GO!


For more options click here.

Explore Ontario